Accessibility Options

Use the options below to set the appearance of this website so you can read it more easily

Text Size Select your prefered text size from the options below

  • A
  • A
  • A

Colours Select your prefered website colour from the options below


National Theatre Wales


The biennial Wales Drama Award is presented by National Theatre Wales and BBC Cymru Wales, in partnership with BBC Writersroom. It is both a celebration of writers in Wales and an open call to Welsh talent, whether emerging or established.

The winner receives £10,000 and an opportunity to develop their script and work closely with both National Theatre Wales and BBC Cymru Wales.

The competition is open to any writer residing in Wales. Writers must submit a full-length script in any medium, unperformed or unproduced and in the English language and at least 30 minutes long.

The first award was presented to Katherine Chandler in 2012, and Kelly Jones won The second in 2014.

Watch this space for more information about the 2016 Wales Drama Award!